April 2016

An exciting month for the labees!

Jon was awarded The Dumbach Medal for best Chemistry dissertation and The Loyola University Chicago Biomedical and Sciences Dissertation of the Year Award.

Noelle was awarded the Babler Scholarship for Fall 2016.

Eleanor was awarded the Mulcahy Scholarship and Provost Fellowship for the 2016-17 AY.

Marie was awarded the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry and is graduating with Departmental Honors (Silver Key). She will return to Loyola for chemistry graduate studies in the fall.

Victor was awarded the Professor Cassaretto Medal, the Robert Otremba Scholarship for Spring 2016, and is graduating with Departmental Honors (Gold Key). He will be leaving us to Northwestern's Feinberg School of Medicine in the fall.

Congratulations to everyone!

Click through the banner to see pictures of the event.

October 2015

62nd AVS in San Jose!  Dan, Jon, and Rachael gave contributed talks at the meeting.  Jon received an award for being a finalist for the Morton Traum Surface Science Student award.  Dan is organizing the “Fundamental Discoveries in Heterogeneous Catalysis” Focus Topic for the 2016 meeting in Nashville. And Rachael got a shirt.

rachael at symposium.jpg

Rachael gave a talk at the regional ACS meeting in Grand Rapids MI.  Dan organized a symposium, “Catalysis and Surface Science to Advance Energy Efficiency."  Other speakers were Jason Weaver (Florida), Jake Ciszek (LUC), Mike Trenary (UIC), Alex Kandel (Notre Dame), and Charlie Sykes (Tufts).